Accept The Now… Give The Present Of Today

“Don’t cry over the past, it’s gone. Don’t stress about the future, it hasn’t arrived. Live in the present and make it beautiful.”-Unknown

unnamed

il_fullxfull.653670446_eq0a

“I am going to do my best to try and create a country in which children are not living in poverty, in which kids can go to college, in which old people have health care. Will I succeed? I can’t guarantee you that, but I can tell you that from a human point of view it is better to show up that to give up.”-Bernie Sanders

The present…Not many people are focused or in the present. Most people are either stuck in the past or to focused on the future.  Many people can’t see whats right in front of them. They can’t see the struggles children of today are going through, that we have our own extremists here in America, or climate change killing animals our future generations  will never be able to see. Many people are scared of facing the truth of today. That is why most people are stuck either in the past or only focused on the future.

I am focusing on the present, the here and now, in truth its all we really have. I am watching the presidential debate and voting for Bernie Sanders. I am focusing on my senior year of high school and having fun. Each night I spend time with my family, and we talk about the debate. In a house of 2 loving parents, 2 young adults, a teenager, and a child we debate on which would be a better president. Donald Trump or Bernie Sanders. We have three people for Bernie Sanders and three people for Donald Trump. I believe it is good to debate to have with children.  I get to give my opinion about what I believe will happen in the future, both my hopes and my fears. One day it will be them running this country, our children, your children, and when the time comes, they need to know the qualities it takes in a person to help lead the way, qualities I see in Bernie Sanders. Young people and minorities, are the one’s who get the president elected in the first place, so why not talk to the young adults of today?

Why don’t we all just stay focused on the present, instead of being glued in the past, or fast forwarding the future? I hope one day we can teach young adults, teenagers, and children what is right and what is wrong in this world, and put our trust in them. One way we could teach them to stay in the present, is to have them focus on what is right and wrong in this world. Help them focus on being compassionate to others and show gratitude for what they have, help them to see these same qualities in others, instead of being glued into their media devices, and your own.

One thought on “Accept The Now… Give The Present Of Today

Leave a Reply

